If you are convicted of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in the State of Alaska, you will be required to purchase SR22 insurance in order to get your driver license reinstated.
SR22 insurance is a motor vehicle liability insurance that must be submitted to the Alaska DMV as proof that you are insured. Even if you do not own a vehicle, you will still need SR22 insurance in order to drive in Alaska. If you do not own a vehicle, ask your insurance company about a non-owner SR22 policy.
Your insurance company is required by law to notify the DMV if your insurance is canceled or lapsed, so it is important to keep your insurance current and paid for.
The length of time that you are required to maintain SR22 insurance depends upon the number of DUI offenses you have:
First DUI Offense - SR22 insurance is required for 5 years from end of revocation.
Second DUI Offense - SR22 insurance is required for 10 years from end of license revocation.
Third DUI Offense - SR22 insurance is required for 20 years from end of license revocation.
Fourth or Subsequent DUI - SR22 insurance is required for the life of the driver.
As you can see based on the length of time you will be required to maintain your SR22 filing with the DMV, this can get expensive, so it is important to shop around for the lowest SR22 rates. You can do that here:
In Alaska, DUI offenders are also required to get an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) before they can drive again. (These are sometimes referred to as a “blow-and-go.”)
The DMV will put a “C” on your license, which indicates that you can only drive with an IID. You will need one on any vehicle that you drive, even if you do not own a vehicle. You will need to prove that you have one installed in order to reinstate your Alaska driver license.
The length of the IID requirement depends on the number of previous convictions.
If you live in a remote area where vehicle registration is not required, you may be allowed to drive without an IID, but your license will still show the restriction, and if you drive to an area that requires vehicle registration, you will need to have an IID. See a list of areas that might be exempt from the IID requirement here.
If you violate an IID order, you will be penalized with further jail time, fines, and license suspension.
The cost of an IID can vary but is often around $1,700. Click here for a list of Ignition Interlock Providers in Alaska and their contact information.
The reinstatement free for a driver license is currently $250, but there may be additional costs for education and license issuing.
For more information about SR22 insurance, Alaska’s IID requirement, or how to get your driver license reinstated, you can email DOA.DMV.Webmaster@Alaska.gov.
Alaska DUI First Offense - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
Alaska DUI Second Offense - Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
Alaska DUI Third Offense - Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in Alaska - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Alaska's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Alaska DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI education and evaluation classes.
Alaska Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Alaska bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
State Statutes - Complete Alaska DUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.