In Alabama, the legal blood alcohol limit is 0.08% (0.02% for underage drivers). If you are caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level above the limit, you will be charged with a DUI. If you are convicted, your driver license will likely be suspended or revoked.
First conviction – 90 day suspension
Second conviction in 5 years – 1 year revocation
Third conviction – 3 year revocation
Fourth or subsequent conviction – 5 year revocation
Alabama has an Implied Consent Law. This means that if you operate a motor vehicle on the roads in Alabama, you are accepting the fact that, if asked to do so, you will be required by law to submit to a blood alcohol test. Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol test will automatically result in a conviction and a suspension of your driver license.
(For more information about Alabama DUI laws, fines, and penalties, visit our Alabama DUI laws page.)
In order to get your driver license reinstated after it has been suspended or revoked, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee of $275.
You will also need to purchase an AL SR22 insurance policy. An SR22 (sometimes called a financial responsibility form) is an additional form that your insurance provider will file with the DPS in order to get your driver's license back after a suspension or revocation for a DUI.
This form provides the Alabama Department of Public Safety with proof that you have at least the minimum liability coverage limits required by the state:
$20,000 for the injury or death of one person
$40,000 for the injury or death of more than one person
$10,000 for damage to property
Even if you do not own a vehicle, you will still need to have SR22 insurance in order to legally drive. This type of policy is referred to as a non-owner SR22 policy.
Not all insurance companies will provide an SR22. You can locate ones that do offer it here:
Be sure to maintain your SR22 for as long as ordered (usually 3 years). It is imperative that you pay your bills in full and on time. If your coverage lapses, your company is required by law to notify the state, which will then suspend your license again.
You can find out your own specific reinstatement requirements, including how long you need to maintain SR22 insurance, by filling out and returning the Department of Public Safety Request for Reinstatement Requirements form. You can print this form out online, or you can pick one up at any of the Driver License Office Locations. You can then mail the form to Driver License Division, P.O. Box 1471, Montgomery, AL 36102-1471.
For more information on how to get your Alabama driver license reinstated, call (334) 242-4259 or send an email through this form.
First Offense DUI Alabama - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
Second Offense DUI Alabama - Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
Third Offense DUI Alabama - Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
Fourth Offense DUI Alabama - Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
DUI Laws in Alabama - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Alabama's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Alabama DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
Alabama Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Alabama bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
State Statutes - Complete Alabama DUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.