Connecticut DUI Laws & Penalties
Connecticut DUI law § 14-227(a) states that it is a misdemeanor offense for any person with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Connecticut while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Connecticut DUI law § 14-227(g) states that it is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .02% or greater.
Connecticut's implied consent law § 14-227(b) states that any person who drives a vehicle in the state of Connecticut has given their consent to submit to alcohol or drug testing when that person applies for and accepts a Connecticut driver's license.
If you submitted to or refused a chemical test, the arresting officer is required to revoke your diver's license for a period of 24 hours and submit the evidence against you and the officer's report to the Connecticut DMV.
Connecticut DUI Evidence
In order for the evidence collected by the arresting officer to be considered admissible in court, the following items must occur:
- The officer must have given you a reasonable chance to contact your DUI lawyer before beginning the test.
- You and your lawyer must be mailed or hand delivered a copy of the test results within 24 hours or by the end of the next business day.
- The test must be administered by the arresting officer or by another trained person at the arresting officer's direction.
- The test must be performed and administered using testing methods and equipment approved by the Connecticut Department of Public Safety.
- If the arrest was for alcohol, a second test must be administered within 30 minutes of the first test. If the arrest was for drugs, the second test must be administered within 2 hours of operating the vehicle.
If you were injured and/or incapacitated due to being involved in an accident, a blood or urine sample will be taken at the hospital during medical treatment. If your BAC level was established in this manner, the following items must occur in order for the evidence to be admissible in court:
- The sample must have been taken for the diagnosis and treatment of your injuries.
- If the sample was a blood sample, it must be taken in accordance with DPS standards.
- The officer must prove to a Superior Court judge that the sample constitutes evidence that you were under the influence.
- The judge issues a search warrant authorizing seizure of the test results as evidence in your case.
Obtaining A Connecticut Work-Only Driver's License
First time DUI offenders may apply for a special work-only permit that will allow them to driver for no more than 12-hours per day, to and from work and any other destinations stated on the permit. If you refused or failed to complete any part of the chemical test you will not be eligible for a work permit for the first 3-months of your suspension period.
To apply for a special work permit you will need to fill out the application for a special work permit and mail it to the Connecticut DMV for approval. It can take several weeks to hear back from the DMV to find out if you are approved for the permit.
Connecticut First Offense DUI
A first offense DUI charge in Connecticut means that your blood alcohol concentration was .08% or greater and you have had no prior DUI convictions within the past 10 years. A first offense DUI charge is considered a misdemeanor charge and carries the following penalties:
Jail time: You will either be sentenced to a mandatory minimum jail time of two days up to a maximum of 6-months in jail or up to a six month suspension with mandatory probation and 100 hours of community service.
Fines: The minimum fine amount is $500 and can increase up to $1,000 at the court's discretion.
License Suspension: Your driver's license will be suspended for 1-year following a first offense conviction. You will be required to file a Connecticut SR22 insurance form with the DMV before they will reinstate your driver's license.
Probation Requirement: If you are sentenced to a period of probation, the court may require you to participate in a victim impact panel program that has been approved by the Court Support Services Division. You will have to pay a fee of up to $25 to attend the program.
Connecticut Second Offense DUI
A second offense DUI charge in Connecticut means that your blood alcohol concentration was .08% or greater and you have been convicted of one prior DUI in the past 10-years. A second offense charge is considered a misdemeanor charge and carries the following penalties:
Jail time: The mandatory minimum amount of jail time for a second offense is 120 consecutive days or up to 2-years in jail. You will also face a probationary period following the time in jail along with 100 hours of community service.
Fines: The minimum fine for a second offense DUI charge is $1,000 and can be increased up to $4,000 at the court's discretion.
License Suspension: Your driver's license will be suspended for 3-years. If you are 21 years of age or older you will be eligible for a license reinstatement with an ignition interlock installed on your vehicle after the first year.
Ignition Interlock: The DMV will contact you before your 1-year reinstatement date has been reached. The DMV will require you to fill out an application for the program. The cost of the ignition interlock device installation and monthly expense is at your cost. Installation of the ignition interlock device must be done by an approved vendor. To find out more about the Connecticut ignition interlock program and eligibility requirements click here.
Connecticut Third or Subsequent Offense DUI
A third or subsequent offense DUI charge in Connecticut means that your blood alcohol concentration was .08% or greater and you have been convicted of one DUI within the past 10-years and have had at least one DUI conviction beyond the past 10-years. A second or subsequent offense charge carries the following penalties:
Jail time: The mandatory minimum amount of jail time for a third or subsequent offense is 1-year and can be up to 3-years in jail. You will also face a probationary period following the time in jail along with 100 hours of community service.
Fines: The minimum fine for a third or subsequent offense DUI charge is $2,000 and can go as high as $8,000 at the court's discretion.
License Revocation: Following a third or subsequent offense charge your driver's license will be permanently revoked, meaning you will never be able to legally drive again. You may request a hearing to review your situation after 6-years of the revocation have passed. This review is to determine if the permanent revocation is to remain in place.
Connecticut SR22 Requirements
Before the Connecticut DMV will reinstate your license following your suspension period or before issuing you a special work-only permit, they will require you to file an SR22 form with them before issuing you a new license. You will be required to carry your SR22 insurance for a period of 3-years.
At anytime during this 3-year period if there is a lapse in your SR22 insurance coverage, your insurance provider is obligated by law to immediately inform the Connecticut DMV of the lapse. If a lapse in coverage occurs, the Connecticut DMV will immediately suspended your license and you will be required to re file an SR22 form with the DMV before they will issue you another license.
Since you are going to have to have your SR22 insurance for a period of 3-years, it is important to find the cheapest policy you can before choosing one. DUI Process has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Connecticut and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.
You won't be able to find a SR22 insurance policy in Connecticut for any less.Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.
Other Connecticut DUI Resources
Connecticut First Offense DUI - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
Connecticut SR22 Insurance Filing - We have compiled everything you need to know about Connecticut's SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
Connecticut Substance Abuse Programs - We offer a complete listing of state approved substance abuse treatment programs.
Connecticut Bail Bondsmen - Comprehensive list of Connecticut bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
Connecticut DUI Courts - Comprehensive list of Connecticut's criminal courts listed by County.
Jails in Connecticut - Comprehensive list of Connecticut's jails and contact information.