Delaware SR22 Insurance Quotes & Filing Info

DUI laws, penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing and more

In the State of Delaware, anyone caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher will be charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence). If one is convicted of a DUI, he or she will lose his or her driver’s license for the following periods of time:

1st offense - 12-24 months
2nd offense - 24-30 months
3rd offense - 24-36 months
4th or subsequent offense - 60 months

(For more information about Delaware’s DUI laws and penalties, visit our Delaware DUI lawspage.)

Delaware and SR22 Insurance

SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility that one can purchase to show proof of insurance. Many states require an SR22 after a DUI. At this time, the State of Delaware does not require SR22 insurance. However, if you already have an SR22 because of a situation in another state, you will still be required to carry that SR22 insurance even if you move to / live in Delaware. One is always required to meet the requirements of the state where the DUI happened. Talk to your insurance provider for more information.

You can find a list of insurance providers here:

sr22 insurance alaska




Delaware’s Ignition Interlock Device Programs

Delaware currently offers two Ignition Interlock Device (IID) programs: the First Offense Election Ignition Interlock Device Diversion and the Voluntary Ignition Interlock Device Program.

At the time of arraignment, a first offender may apply for the First Offender Program. If he or she is accepted, he or she may apply for an IID license if he or she:

enrolls in a designated rehabilitation program
completes at least one month of revocation
completes the Ignition Interlock Program application
has insurance on the IID vehicle

A person who has been convicted of a 2nd or subsequent offense may apply for the Voluntary Ignition Interlock Device Program if he or she:

enrolls in a designated rehabilitation program
did not cause serious injury or death with DUI incident
agrees to participate in the IID program for a period of time longer than the revocation
completes the Ignition Interlock Program application
passes the DMV’s Character Background Review
has insurance on the IID vehicle

For more information about Delaware’s IID programs, call 302-744-2508.

Delaware Driver’s License Reinstatement

In order to get your Delaware driver’s license reinstated, you must complete an alcohol evaluation and a rehabilitation program and pay the reinstatement fee of $143.75.

For more information about your Delaware driver’s license, see the Delaware Driver Manual.

You can also reach DMV customer service specialists via the following numbers:
New Castle County 302-326-5000 or 302-434-3200
Kent County 302-744-2500
Sussex County 302-853-1000

You can also email DMV customer service at DMVCustomerService@state.de.us.

sr22 insurance alaska



 

Other Delaware DUI Resources

  • Delaware First Offense DUI - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • Delaware Second Offense DUI - Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • Delaware Third Offense DUI - Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • Delaware Fourth Offense DUI - Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • DUI Laws in Delaware - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Delaware's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.

  • Delaware DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI drinking driver programs.

  • Delaware Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Delaware bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.

online dui and dwi classes






dui dwi classes online100% Online DUI/DWI Classes!

nationwide dui and dwi classesClasses Accepted Nationwide!

60 day money back guaranteeMoney Back Guarantee!

dui class certificate sent upon completionOfficial Certificate By Priority Mail!

 

SR22 quote