In Illinois, a first-time DUI offender loses his or her license for 6 months. On the 31st day of suspension, he or she may be eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). This means that he or she will only be allowed to drive a vehicle fitted with a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID).
A breath alcohol ignition interlock device is a small device that needs to be professionally installed in a vehicle. It prevents someone from starting a vehicle if his or her blood alcohol limit exceeds a preset limit (usually 0.02). The BAIID will alert the Secretary of State’s office is anyone tries to drive under the influence or tampers with the device. The offender is responsible for all BAIID installation and maintenance fees. Click here for a list ofIllinois BAIID installation sites.
Subsequent offenders will lose their licenses for 1 year. A person with two or three DUI convictions will likely be required to install a BAIDD as a condition of reinstatement.
Once your suspension period has ended, you can contact a hearing officer for a reinstatement consultation. You can check on the availability of an informal hearing officer by calling the following numbers:
Before you can get your license back, you will also need to complete an alcohol and drug evaluation by a Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (DASA) licensed provider within six months of your hearing date.
A first-time DUI offender must then have an informal hearing. Subsequent offenders must request a formal hearing, in writing, with a $50 filing fee. (First-time offenders whose DUI resulted in fatality must also request a formal hearing.)
If the hearing goes well, drivers must then show proof of SR22 insurance and pay the applicable reinstatement fees. For first-time offenders, the reinstatement fee is $250. Repeat offenders must pay a reinstatement fee of $500. Mail your reinstatement fee to:
Secretary of State, DUI Section
2701 S. Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62723
You can also pay by credit (not debit) card by calling 217-782-3619.
Reinstatement applicants must submit an SR22 insurance certificate to the Secretary of State’s office. SR22 insurance is simply proof of financial responsibility that shows the State of Illinois that applicants do have minimum liability insurance.
SR22 insurance must be maintained for three years. If an SR22 policy is not paid on time, insurance companies are required to notify the Secretary of State.
Insurance companies are not required to offer SR22 insurance and some do not. You can find those who do here:
First Offense DUI Illinois - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
Second Offense DUI Illinois - Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
Third Offense DUI Illinois - Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
Fourth Offense DUI Illinois - Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in Illinois - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Illinois's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Illinois DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI educations classes listed by County.
Illinois Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Illinois bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.