If you are convicted of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in the State of Kansas, you will need to purchase SR22 insurance.
SR22 insurance shows proof of financial responsibility. It demonstrates to the State that your insurance company is aware of your situation, and is still covering you for the minimum liability limits, which in Kansas, are:
$25,000 for the injury/death of one person in one accident
$50,000 for the injury/death of two or more persons in one accident
$10,000 for damage to property in one accident
You will need to carry SR22 insurance for twelve consecutive months. SR22 insurance must be held continuously, so if your insurance is allowed to lapse, you will have to begin the 12 months over again.
Even if you do not own a vehicle, you will still need to purchase SR22 insurance if you are convicted of a DUI.
SR22 insurance is considered “high risk insurance,” and not all insurance companies will offer this type of insurance. You can find a list of those Kansas insurance companies that do here:
Kansas has an ignition interlock program. An ignition interlock device (IID) is a breathalyzer that is electronically installed in your vehicle. By asking for breath samples, the IID prevents someone who has been drinking from starting or operating a vehicle.
First-time offenders who have a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or higher will have their driver’s license suspended for one year, and then be restricted to driving only an IID-equipped vehicle for the following year. The same rule applies to second-time offenders. Second-time offenders with a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or higher will lose their license for two years, and then be restricted to driving only an IID-equipped vehicle for the following two years.
IID fees are the responsibility of the driver, and it can cost as much as $100 a month, plus installation and removal fees. Click here for Kansas’ list of approved ignition interlock devices.
In order to get your Kansas driver’s license reinstated, you may be required to do several of the following:
Pay reinstatement fees.
Complete alcohol treatment program.
Purchase SR22 insurance.
Participate in ignition interlock program.
For More Information:
To contact Kansas DMV customer service, call 1-785-296-3671. This line is only open Tuesday through Thursday, from 8:10 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.
For more information about Kansas DUI laws, penalties, and fines, visit our Kansas DUI laws page.
Kansas First Offense - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
Kansas Second Offense - Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
Kansas Third Offense - Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
Kansas Fourth Offense - Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
DUI Laws in Kansas - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Kansas's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Kansas DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI education & substance abuse programs listed by County.
Kansas Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Kansas bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.