In the State of Montana, if you are convicted of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), your license will be suspended for at least 6 months.
In order to get your Montana driver’s license back, you will need to:
purchase Montana SR22 insurance.
pay the reinstatement fee.
complete an alcohol treatment program.
(possibly) install an ignition interlock device.
(possibly) take a driver examination.
SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility. It shows the State of Montana that you are fully insured. You will be required to carry your SR22 insurance for three years. If your auto insurance lapses for any reason during this time, your insurance company is obligated by law to notify the MVD. This would likely result in the loss of your driving privileges.
Because SR22 insurance is considered a “high-risk” insurance, it can be costly. You can compare some competitive rates here:
A breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID or IID) is a small computerized device that attaches to your ignition. In order to start your vehicle, you will need to blow into the device for 4-5 seconds. If your breath sample demonstrates that you have not been drinking, then the vehicle will start. Once the vehicle starts, the IID will ask for a “rolling retest” periodically.
If you have been convicted of a first offense DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.16 or greater, or if you have been convicted of a subsequent DUI, you will need to install an ignition interlock device in the vehicle(s) you drive.
Currently, the following vendors are approved to install and service ignition interlock devices in Montana:
• Big Sky Ignition Interlock (406) 599-5362
• Consumer Safety Technology, Inc. (877) 777-5020
• DMB Interlock & Safety Services, Inc. (406) 698-7297
• Mountain Peaks, Inc. (866) 453-6784
• Smart Start, Inc. (800) 880-3394
The person convicted of the DUI is responsible for all the IID fees. For example, one Montana vendor charges $85 for installation, and then $2.50 a day after that. This vendor also asks for a $35 deposit at the time of installation. There may also be additional recalibration and removal fees.
For More Information:
You can contact the Montana Motor Vehicle Division at 406-444-3933 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
For more information about the consequences of a DUI in Montana, visit our Montana DUI laws page.
First Offense DUI Montana - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in Montana - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Montana DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Montana DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI ACT classes listed by County.
Montana Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Montana bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.