When someone is convicted of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or of refusing to submit to a chemical test in North Dakota, the State Drivers License Division of the DOT requires him or her to show proof of future financial responsibility for one year.
For most people, this proof takes the form of “SR22 insurance.” An SR22 is a form that your auto insurance company files with the State. (In lieu of SR22 insurance, you can make a cash deposit or submit a cash bond for $25,000.)
An SR22 proves that a person is insured for at least the minimum liability limits allowed in North Dakota:
$25,000 per person
$50,000 per accident (the maximum paid to all people injured in one accident)
$25,000 per accident in property damage
If your insurance policy is allowed to lapse for any reason, your insurance provider is required to notify the North Dakota Department of Transportation immediately. This will likely result in the loss of your driving privileges.
SR22 insurance is “high-risk” insurance and not all North Dakota insurance companies will offer SR22 insurance. You can find those that do here:
In order to get your North Dakota driver’s license back after a DUI, you may need to:
pay a $100 operator license reinstatement fee.
pay a $10 license application fee.
purchase North Dakota SR22 insurance.
pass a written and/or physical driver’s test.
complete an alcohol evaluation.
install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that you drive.
If you have been convicted of a DUI, the courts may order you to install an ignition interlock device in the vehicle(s) that you drive. An ignition interlock device (IID or BAIID) is a small instrument that is wired to your ignition. In order to start your vehicle, you would need to blow into the device to prove that you haven’t consumed any alcohol.
The IID records any failed tests, and refusals to take a test (e.g., the device asks for a sample and you don’t provide one), and attempts to tamper with the device. All of this information can be downloaded and sent to the DOT. Not only does an IID prevent individuals from drinking and driving, but it also provides the State with a way to monitor offenders.
It can cost between $100 and $200 to have an IID installed, and there is then a monthly rental/maintenance fee that can cost as much as $100. There may also be a removal fee.
For More Information:
For more information about DUI fines and penalties, visit our North Dakota DUI laws page.
You can also call the North Dakota Department of Transportation at 701-328-2435 or use their online contact form.
First Offense DUI North Dakota - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in North Dakota - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of ND's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
North Dakota DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI evaluation classes listed by County.
North Dakota Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of ND bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.