Rhode Island SR22 Insurance Quotes & Filing Info

DUI laws, penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing and more

If you are convicted of a DUI or a refusal to submit in Rhode Island, your driving privilege will be suspended. In order to get it back, you will have to pay a license reinstatement fee. You can pay by cash, check, or money order and can pay either in person or through the mail. You will also need to purchase Rhode Island SR22 insurance.

An SR22 is a form that demonstrates future financial responsibility. You must purchase SR22 insurance from a licensed insurance company, and then file the SR22 form with the State.

Rhode Island requires DUI offenders to carry SR22 insurance for three years. If your insurance policy lapses during this period of time, your insurance company is required by law to notify the State. This will likely result in the loss of your driving privileges.

Because SR22 insurance is considered a “high-risk insurance,” it can be expensive. Still, some companies offer competitive rates. You can find some of those here:

sr22 insurance alaska



Rhode Island’s Ignition Interlock Program:

A Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID or IID) is a small device that is wired to a vehicle’s ignition. Once installed, the IID will require a breath sample before it will allow the engine to start. Once the engine has started, the IID will continue to ask for samples periodically. It will give you time to safely pull over and provide a sample.

If a person is convicted of a second DUI, he or she may be required to drive with an IID for one to two years. If a person is convicted of a third or subsequent DUI, he or she may be required to drive with an IID for two years.

The IID records any failed breath tests, any refusals to provide a breath sample, and any attempts to tamper with the device. Your IID vendor can download all of this information in order to monitor your driving behavior.

The cost of an ignition interlock device varies based on providers, but it usually costs approximately $1,200 per year. Expect installation, service, lease, and removal fees.

Currently, Rhode Island residents have five certified IID vendors to choose from:

B.E.S.T. Labs, Inc 1-877-237-1541
Consumer Safety Technology 1-877-777-5020
Interceptor Ignition Interlocks 1-800-215-1007
New England Interlock 1-800-987-8040
Smart Start 1-800-880-3394

For More Information:

For information about Rhode Island’s DUI regulations, visit our Rhode Island DUI laws page.

If you have questions about your suspension or reinstatement, you can call the Rhode Island DMV at 401-462-0800 Monday through Friday 8:30 to 3:15.

sr22 insurance alaska



 

Other Rhode Island DUI Resources

  • First Offense DUI Rhode Island - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • DUI Laws in Rhode Island - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Rhode Island DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.

  • Rhode Island DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI classes listed by County.

  • Rhode Island Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Rhode Island bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.

online dui and dwi classes






dui dwi classes online100% Online DUI/DWI Classes!

nationwide dui and dwi classesClasses Accepted Nationwide!

60 day money back guaranteeMoney Back Guarantee!

dui class certificate sent upon completionOfficial Certificate By Priority Mail!

 

SR22 quote