In the Commonwealth of Virginia, if you are convicted of a DUI, you will need to purchase Virginia FR44 insurance.
FR44 insurance proves future financial responsibility. With your FR44 on file, the Commonwealth is assured that you will be covered in the event of a future accident. Even if you are a skilled driver, you are now considered a high risk driver, if you have been convicted of a DUI.
FR44 insurance doubles the SR22 insurance limits:
$50,000 for the injury or death of one person
$100,000 for the injury or death of more than one person
$40,000 for damage to property
The Virginia DMV prefers that your insurance company files your FR44 form electronically. This will make things easier on you too, as electronic filings are processed faster.
Because both SR22 insurance and FR44 insurance are considered high risk policies, they can be expensive. Still, there are some companies that offer competitive rates. You can compare some of those here:
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a small computerized device that is wired directly to a vehicle’s ignition. In order to start an equipped vehicle, one must blow into the mouthpiece of the IID. If the IID detects alcohol on the driver’s breath, the vehicle will not start.
In Virginia, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on every vehicle that you own or drive if:
You are convicted of a second DUI within 5 years
You are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI within 10 years
You are convicted of a DUI with a BAC of 0.15 or higher
The ignition interlock requirement will last for at least six months.
The cost of the ignition interlock program falls on the driver. It can cost from $50 to $100 to have the unit installed, and there is then a monthly maintenance fee that can also range from $50 to $100. Some providers also charge a removal fee.
It is worth noting that the Virginia Insurance Commission has authorized insurance companies to offer discounts to those participating in the ignition interlock program.
For More Information:
For more about Virginia’s DUI process, visit our Virginia DUI laws page.
You can also call the Virginia DMV at 804-497-7100, Monday through Friday, from 8 to 5, and on Saturday from 8 to noon. Alternatively, you can contact the DMV through theironline contact form. Remember to include your full name, customer number, and a way for them to reach you.
First Offense DUI Virginia - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in Virginia - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Virignia DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Virginia DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI alcohol safety action programs listed by County.
Virginia Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Virginia bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.