Vermont DUI Laws & Penalties

DUI laws, penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing and more

Vermont DUI laws state that it is against the law for any person to drive a motor vehicle in the state of Vermont while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a blood alcohol concentration level of .08% or greater.

It is not necessary for a person who has been stopped on suspicion of driving under the influence to display the signs one would typically associate with someone who is under the influence.  Just the fact that a chemical test shows a blood alcohol concentration level of .08% or greater will get you arrested for DUI in Vermont.

It should also be noted that a person could still be arrested for driving under the influence in Vermont even if their blood alcohol concentration level is below the legal limit of .08% just by displaying signs that are consistent with a person who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

When an officer stops someone on suspicion of DUI in Vermont, the officer is already starting to build a case against that person by observing their driving patterns prior to initiating the DUI stop.  If the officer has established reasonable grounds and suspects that someone is under the influence, the officer is going to request that the individual perform some field sobriety test (it is not required by law that you submit to the field sobriety tests. If an officer asks you to take the field sobriety test, just kindly refuse his request).

Vermont First Offense DUI

A Vermont first offense DUI conviction is a Misdemeanor offense and carries the following penalties:

Jail time: A first offense conviction may result in a jail sentence of up to a maximum of 2 years.  The length of the jail sentence will be at the court's discretion.
Fines: A first offense conviction may result in fines of up to $750 plus court costs.
Alcohol assessment: You will be required to attend a state approved alcohol and drug rehabilitation program.  The program will cost you roughly $300.
Test refusal: A first offense will result in a 6 month license suspension.
Ignition interlock: An ignition interlock will be required for restricted driving privileges after 30 days of the 90 day suspension has passed.
License suspension: Your license will be suspended for 90 days following a first offense. You will be eligible for a restricted license after the first 30 days. Before the Vermont DMV will reinstate your license following your suspension period you will be required to show proof of financial responsibility in the form of a Vermont SR22 insurance policy that meets the states minimum auto insurance liability coverage limits.  You will also have to pay a license reinstatement fee to the Department.

sr22 insurance alaska



Vermont Second Offense DUI

A Vermont second offense DUI conviction is a Misdemeanor offense and carries the following penalties:

Jail time: A second offense conviction may result in a minimum jail sentence of 60 days up to a maximum of 2-years.  The length of the jail sentence will be at the court's discretion.
FInes: A second offense conviction may result in fines of up to $1,500 plus court costs.
Community service: You will be required to perform 200 hours of community service, or 60 hours jail time.
Alcohol assessment: You will be required to attend a state approved alcohol and drug rehabilitation program.  The program will cost you $300.
Test refusal: A second offense will result in a 18 month license suspension.
Ignition interlock: An ignition interlock will be required for restricted driving privileges after 90 days of the 180 day suspension has passed.
License suspension: Your license will be suspended for 180 days following a second offense. You will be eligible for a restricted license after the first 90 days. Before the Vermont DMV will reinstate your license following your suspension period you will be required to show proof of financial responsibility in the form of a Vermont SR22 insurance policy that meets the states minimum auto insurance liability coverage limits.  You will also have to pay a license reinstatement fee to the Department.

sr22




Vermont Third Offense DUI

A Vermont third offense DUI conviction is a Felony offense and carries the following penalties:

Jail time: A third offense conviction may result in a jail sentence of up to 5 years.  The length of the jail sentence will be at the court's discretion.
Fines: A third offense conviction may result in fines of up to $2,500 plus court costs.
Alcohol assessment: You will be required to attend a state approved alcohol and drug rehabilitation program.  The program will cost you $300.
Community service: You will be required to perform 400 hours of community service.
License revocation: Your license may be revoked for life following a third offense.

sr22 insurance alaska



Vermont CDL DUI Laws

A person operating a commercial motor vehicle in the state of Vermont while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or an intoxicant with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or greater or failing to submit to a chemical test is in violation of the state's laws regarding CDL's and will be arrested for DUI and your CDL will be revoked for a period of 1-year following a first offense violation.  A second CDL DUI offense will result in your CDL being revoked for life.

If you were carrying hazardous materials at the time, your CDL will be revoked for 3-years. A second offense violation while carrying hazardous materials will result in a permanent CDL revocation, you will never be able to drive or operate a CMV again.  A CMV operator stopped and found to have any measurable amount of alcohol less than .04% in their system will be issued an "out-of-service" notice and will not be allowed to drive for the next 24-hours.

Vermont DUI Under 21 Years of Age

Vermont has a "zero tolerance" law regarding underage drinking and driving.  If an officer stops you and suspects that you have been drinking and driving and finds that you have any measurable amount of alcohol in your system you will be arrested for violating Vermont's zero tolerance law.  As a result of violating the zero tolerance law you will be facing a license suspension period from the Vermont DMV.

If you are under 21 and are arrested for having a BAC level of .08% or greater you will be facing the same fines and penalties as someone over 21 would face for the same offense.

You will also be required to show proof of financial responsibility in the form of an Vermont SR22 insurance policy before the Department of Motor Vehicles will reinstate your license.

Vermont SR22 Requirements

Before the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles will reinstate your license following your suspension period, they will require you to file an SR22 form with them before issuing you a new license. You will be required to carry your SR22 insurance for a period of 3-years.

At anytime during this 3-year period if there is a lapse in your SR22 insurance coverage, your insurance provider is obligated by law to immediately inform the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles of the lapse.  If a lapse in coverage occurs, the Vermont DMV will immediately suspend your license and you will be required to re-file an SR22 form with the DMV before they will issue you another license.

Since you are going to have to have your SR22 insurance for a period of 3-years, it is important to find the cheapest policy you can before choosing one.  DUI Process has partnered with the largest and most trusted SR22 insurance provider in the state of Vermont and has worked out a special discount only available here for our website visitors.

You won't be able to find a SR22 insurance policy in Vermont for any less. Type in your zip code below so we can provide you with the cheapest rates in your area.

sr22 insurance alaska



 

Other Vermont DUI Resources

  • Vermont First Offense DUI - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • Vermont SR22 Insurance Filing - We have compiled everything you need to know about Vermont SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.

  • Vermont Drinking Driver Rehabilitation Program - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI programs listed by County.

  • Vermont Bail Bondsmen - Comprehensive list of Vermont bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.

online dui and dwi classes






dui dwi classes online100% Online DUI/DWI Classes!

nationwide dui and dwi classesClasses Accepted Nationwide!

60 day money back guaranteeMoney Back Guarantee!

dui class certificate sent upon completionOfficial Certificate By Priority Mail!

 

SR22 quote