West Virginia SR22 Insurance Quotes & Filing Info

DUI laws, penalties, fines, license suspension, sr22 filing and more

SR22 insurance is a high-risk insurance policy that requires an insurance company to send an “SR22 form” to a DMV to prove that an individual has insurance.

Many states require SR22 insurance after a DUI, as a condition of driver’s license reinstatement. West Virginia does not require SR22 insurance.

However, if you are convicted of a DUI and you then move to West Virginia, you may still be required to file an SR22 with the state where the DUI happened. You would need to check with the DMV in that state.

sr22 insurance alaska



West Virginia Alcohol Test and Lock Program:

West Virginia does have an ignition interlock program. Anyone convicted of an aggravated DUI (having a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or higher) and anyone convicted of a second or subsequent DUI within a 10-year period is required to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that he or she drives.

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a small unit that must be installed by a professional. It is wired directly to a vehicle’s ignition, and in order to start the vehicle, a driver must blow into the IID. It works just like a breathalyzer. If the breath sample proves that the driver has not been drinking, then the vehicle will start normally. If the breath sample indicates that the driver has been drinking, then the vehicle will not start and the device will record a failed breath test.

It can cost from $60-$120 to have an IID installed. There is then a monthly or bimonthly lease and maintenance fee. This can run from $60-$100 per month. There may also be a removal fee. An ignition interlock device can be expensive, but it is far less expensive than a repeat offense.

National Interlock Systems, Inc. is authorized to install ignition interlock devices in West Virginia. You can contact them at nationalcontacts@nationalinterlock.com.

For More Information:

To learn more about West Virginia DUI fines and regulations, visit our West Virginia DUI laws page.

You can also call the West Virginia DMV directly at 304-926-3499 or 800-642-9066. For DUI-specific questions, call 304-926-2506. For questions about ignition interlock, call 304-926-2507.

sr22




 

Other West Virginia DUI Resources

  • First Offense DUI West Virginia - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.

  • DUI Laws in West Virginia - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of West Virginia DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.

  • West Virginia DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI programs listed by County.

  • West Virginia Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of West virginia bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.

online dui and dwi classes






dui dwi classes online100% Online DUI/DWI Classes!

nationwide dui and dwi classesClasses Accepted Nationwide!

60 day money back guaranteeMoney Back Guarantee!

dui class certificate sent upon completionOfficial Certificate By Priority Mail!

 

SR22 quote