If you are convicted of a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) in Louisiana, your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 90 days. (Suspensions for subsequent offenses are progressively longer.)
In order to qualify for a hardship license, or to get your driver’s license reinstated, you will need to purchase Louisiana SR22 insurance. If you do not own a vehicle, then you can purchase a non-ownership SR22 policy.
SR22 insurance is proof of future financial responsibility. It shows the State that you are insured for Louisiana’s minimum liability limits:
$15,000 for the injury of one person
$30,000 for the injury of two or more persons
$25,000 for damage to property
You will need to file an SR22 form for a period of three years from the date of your conviction. If your SR22 policy lapses during this time, your insurance company is mandated to alert the State.
Your SR22 insurance must be purchased from an insurance company authorized to do business in Louisiana. You can find a list of those insurance companies here:
Louisiana does offer a hardship license in certain cases. A hardship license allows a person with a suspended license to drive to meet basic needs, such as work and medical appointments. The hardship license usually requires participation in the ignition interlock program.
Louisiana may require an ignition interlock device (IID) as a condition of a hardship license or of a driver’s license reinstatement after a DWI conviction.
An ignition interlock device is a small breathalyzer that is connected to the engine’s ignition. Before a driver can start a vehicle, he or she must provide a breath sample to demonstrate sobriety. Then, once the vehicle has started, the IID will ask for further breath samples at random intervals.
The IID must be installed in any and all vehicles the offender will be driving, and the offender is responsible for all IID costs. It can cause as much as $200 to have an IID installed, and there is also a monthly fee that can cost from $75-$150. The IID must be from a Louisiana-approved interlock manufacturer. Click here for a list of Louisiana’s approved ignition interlock device manufacturers.
One must participate in the IID program for the same length of time as the suspension period, or at least 180 days, whichever is greater.
For More Information:
For more information about Louisiana’s DWI fines and penalties, visit our Louisiana DWI laws page.
You can also call the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles at 225-925-6388.
First Offense DWI Louisiana - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DWI classes, and much more.
DWI Laws in Louisiana - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Louisiana's DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Louisiana DWI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DWI alcohol assessment programs listed by County.
Louisiana Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Louisiana bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2018 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.