A third offense OUI in Maine comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver's license handed down by the Department of Public Safety.
A third offense is classified as a Misdemeanor offense, but if you have had 2 previous offenses within the past 10 years it will be classified as a Class C Felony. There is a 30 day jail sentence as long as there were no aggravating factors involved. If a chemical test was refused there is a 40 day jail sentence. There is a potential 90 day maximum jail sentence for a third offense. The minimum fine amount is $1,000 plus court costs. A chemical test refusal will result in a $1,300 fine plus court costs. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved driver education and evaluation program is required.
A third offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will be considered a presumption of guilt and will result in a 4 year revocation of your driver's license. An ignition interlock will be required if you wish to driver during the suspension period. Your license will be suspended for 6 years following a third offense. You will be eligible for a conditional license after 3 years of suspension period has been served. The court may grant you a conditional license during suspension period. An ignition interlock will be required in order to receive a conditional license. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Maine OUI Laws - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Maine's OUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Maine SR22 Insurance - We have compiled everything you need to know about Maine's SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
Maine Driver Education & Evaluation Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved OUI & alcohol education classes.
Maine Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Maine bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
State Statutes - Complete Maine OUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.
© Copyright 2003-2018 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.