In most states, if your driver’s license is suspended or revoked due to a DUI / DWI, you are required to purchase SR22 insurance.
An SR22 is a form that your insurance provider files with the State to prove that you are in fact insured for the minimum liability limits. Insurance companies are required to notify the MVD if an SR22 carrier fails to maintain his or her policy. Most states require individuals to carry SR22 insurance for three years.
At this time, New Mexico does not require SR22 insurance. However, if you are convicted of a DWI / DUI in another state, and you move to New Mexico, you will still be required to file an SR22 with the state in which the offense took place. If this describes your situation, you should discuss your specifics with your insurance company.
The State of New Mexico requires an ignition interlock driver’s license for anyone who has lost his or her license because of a DWI. An ignition interlock device (IID) is a small breathalyzer that is wired directly to your ignition. In order to start a vehicle, you would need to blow into the device to prove that you haven’t been drinking. Studies show that these devices greatly reduce the number of drunk driving incidences.
An ignition interlock license means that you would be restricted to driving only vehicles that are equipped with ignition interlock devices. However, the license itself is not restricted, and you can drive wherever and whenever you need to.
An ignition interlock license is required for the following periods of time:
First DWI – one year
Second DWI – two years
Third DWI – three years
Fourth or Subsequent DWI – life
To find out if you qualify for an ignition interlock driver’s license, call the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Office at 1-888-683-4636.
In order to get an ignition interlock license, you must provide:
Proof of financial responsibility, i.e., auto insurance
Proof of ignition interlock installation
A $53 fee
You will also be required to pay for installation and a monthly rental fee. An IID can cost as much as $100 per month.
For More Information:
For more information, visit our New Mexico DWI laws page.
To contact the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division directly, call 1-888-683-4636. You can also use their online contact form.
First Offense DWI New Mexico - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DWI classes, and much more.
DWI Laws in New Mexico - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of NM's DWI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
New Mexico DWI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DWI education classes listed by County.
New Mexico Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of NM bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2018 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.