If you lose your Nevada driver’s license because of a DUI, you will be required to carry SR22 insurance for a period of three years from the day you reinstate your driver’s license.
SR22 insurance, also known as “proof of financial responsibility,” is simply a certificate that proves to the State of Nevada that you are insured for the state’s minimum liability limits.
If, at anytime during those three years, your insurance lapses for any reason, your insurance company is required to notify the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles by sending an SR26. Your driver’s license will then be re-suspended and the three year period will start over again.
It’s important to work with your insurance company to determine when and for how long you need SR22 insurance. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles will not notify you when your SR22 filing period is over.
SR22 insurance can be expensive, and the costs can vary widely from company to company. It is important to compare rates before committing to one company. You can do that here:
To get your driver’s license back after a DUI, you may be required to:
attend a “DUI school”
pay a reinstatement fee
take a driver’s license test (if your license has been revoked for one year or more)
purchase SR22 insurance
Specific reinstatement requirements vary from case to case. To check on your case’s particulars, you can write to:
DMV Driver License Review
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0400
You can also call 1-877-368-7828.
After a DUI in Nevada, the courts may order you to install an ignition interlock device (IID or BAIID) in any vehicle that you drive. An ignition interlock device is a small breathalyzer that is wired to your ignition. In order to start your vehicle, you would need to provide a breath sample by blowing into the device. Then, once your vehicle starts, the IID continues to ask for breath samples periodically.
It can cost about $100 to have an IID installed, and drivers are then responsible for a monthly maintenance fee that can cost about $75. There may also be a removal fee.
To find the nearest licensed Nevada IID providers, call:
Alcohol Detection Systems 1-775-246-0911
Smart Start 1-800-880-3394
For More Information:
For more information about DUI fines and penalties, visit our Nevada DUI laws page.
You can also contact the Nevada DMV through the Nevada DMV online contact form.
First Offense DUI Nevada - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in Neveda - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Nevada DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Nevada DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI schools listed by County.
Nevada Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Nevada bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2018 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.