In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, if you are convicted of an OUI (Operating Under the Influence), your license will be suspended for the following lengths of time:
1st Offense - 1 year
2nd Offense - 2 years
3rd Offense - 8 years
4th Offense - 10 years
5th Offense - Lifetime
For a 1st Offense OUI, the court may allow you to complete an alcohol education course, which would reduce your suspension period to 45-90 days.
In order to get your license back, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee:
1st Offense - $500
2nd Offense - $700
3rd Offense - $1200
4th Offense - $1200
You may also be required to complete an alcohol treatment program.
You may also be required to participate in Massachusetts’ Ignition Interlock Program.
SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility that is issued by an auto insurance company. Most states require OUI/DUI offenders to carry SR22 insurance. Massachusetts does not.
However, if you live in another state and get an OUI in Massachusetts, your home state will likely require an SR22 filing.
Also, if you get an OUI in Massachusetts, and then move from Massachusetts to another state, one that does require an SR22 filing, you will then need to purchase SR22 insurance.
If you have been convicted of two or more OUI offenses, in order to get your license reinstated, you will need to participate in Massachusetts’ Ignition Interlock Program. This means that you will be restricted to driving a vehicle equipped with your ignition interlock device (IID) for a period of two years.
An ignition interlock device is a computerized unit that is wired to your ignition. In order to start your vehicle, you will need to blow into the device (just like a breathalyzer) to prove that you are sober. In Massachusetts, the preset IID limit is 0.02. If your breath sample shows that your blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher than 0.02, your vehicle will not start. Once your vehicle has started, the device will ask for a rolling retest. Every so often, you will need to pull over and provide a new breath sample.
The device records failed tests, failures to provide samples, and any attempts to tamper with the device. Participants in the ignition interlock program need to return to their IID vendor once a month. The vendor will check the IID, and upload the information recorded by the device to the RMV.
Program participants are required to pay for all the costs of an IID. Installation can cost as much as $200, and there is a fee for the monthly visits. Removal of the device can cost up to $100. If you fail to obey the ignition interlock law, your license will be revoked for at least 10 years.
For More Information:
For more information about Massachusetts OUI fines and penalties, visit our Massachusetts DUI laws page.
You can also visit the official website of the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles.
To reach the RMV by phone, call 1-800-858-3926 Monday through Friday, from 9 to 5. (The phones are closed on holidays.)
First Offense DUI Massachusetts - First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more.
DUI Laws in Massachusetts - Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Massachusetts DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
Massachusetts DUI Schools & Classes - We offer a complete listing of state approved DWI alcohol education programs listed by County.
Massachusetts Bail Bond Agents - Comprehensive list of Massachusetts bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
© Copyright 2003-2016 DuiProcess.com. All rights reserved.