Kansas Second Offense DUI Penalties
Kansas Second Offense DUI Law Overview
A second offense DUI in Kansas comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Department of Revenue.
A second offense is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor offense. Punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a minimum of 90 days up to a maximum of 1 year. You will need to serve at least 5 days of the jail sentence before the court will grant you probation for the remainder of the sentence. Fines will range from $1,250 to $1,750 plus court costs. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved substance abuse program is required.
A second offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will result in 2 year suspension of your driver’s license, followed by 2 years of ignition interlock driving requirement and an additional $600 fine. An ignition interlock will be required for 2 years after reinstatement for all second time offenders. Your license will be suspended for a1 year following a second offense as long as you submitted to a chemical test. You will also have to pay a $200 license reinstatement fee. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Kansas DUI Resources
- Kansas DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Kansas’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Kansas First Offense DUI – First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Kansas Third Offense DUI – Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Kansas Fourth Offense DUI – Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Kansas SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Kansas’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Kansas Alcohol Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
- Kansas Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Kansas bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.