Georgia Third Offense DUI Penalties
Georgia Third Offense DUI Law Overview
A third offense DUI in Georgia comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Department of Driver Services.
A third offense is classified as a Misdemeanor offense. It is treated as a third offense if you have had at least 1 previous conviction within the previous 10 years. The jail sentence for a third conviction is between 15 days and 1 year, the Judge may probate all but 15 days of the sentence. The fine for a third will be $1,000 to $5,000 plus all associated court costs. You will be placed on probation for 12 months minus any jail time already served. You will have to serve 30 days of community service. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved DUI classes is required.
A third offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will result in a 5 year suspension of your driver’s license. Your license will be revoked for 5 years following a third offense. You will be eligible to obtain an ignition interlock permit after serving 2 years of the revocation period as long as you have completed all the requirements set forth by the court. The court may grant you an ignition interlock permit during suspension period. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Georgia DUI Resources
- Georgia DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Georgia’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Georgia First Offense DUI – First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Georgia Second Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Georgia Fourth or Subsequent Offense DUI – Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Georgia SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Georgia’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Georgia DUI Education Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol education classes.
- Georgia Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Georgia bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.