Hawaii First Offense DUI Penalties
Hawaii First Offense DUI Law Overview
A first offense DUI in Hawaii comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Division of Motor Vehicles.
A first offense is classified as a Misdemeanor offense. Punished by a possible minimum jail term of 48 hours up to 5 days, if a minor under 15 was in the vehicle you will have to serve an additional 48 hours. The fines will range from $150 to $1,000 plus court costs and assessments. If a minor under 15 was in the vehicle you will have to pay an additional mandatory fine of $500. The court may order you to serve a minimum of 72 hours community service. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved substance abuse program is required.
A first offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will result in an automatic 1 year revocation of your driver’s license. An ignition interlock will be required for first offenders if you wish to drive during the revocation period. Your license will be revoked between 90 days and 1 year depending upon the circumstances. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Georgia DUI Resources
- Hawaii DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Hawaii’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Hawaii Second Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Hawaii Third Offense DUI – Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Hawaii SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Hawaii’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Hawaii DUI Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
- Hawaii Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Hawaii bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.