Florida SR22 Insurance Filing Information
Florida SR22 Information & Filings
If you have lost your Florida driver’s license because of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) conviction, you will need to purchase special insurance in order to get your license reinstated. (You may also be required to enroll in DUI School and treatment.) At the time of reinstatement, you will also need to retake the driver’s exam, pay an administrative fee of $130, and a revocation reinstatement fee of $75.
If your DUI conviction happened prior to October 1, 2007, you must obtain SR22 insurance, which shows that you have the minimum insurance amounts of:
$10,000 for injury or death to one person in one accident
$20,000 for injury or death to more than one person in one accident
$10,000 for damage to property resulting from one accident
If your DUI conviction happened after October 1, 2007, you must obtain FR44 insurance, which shows that you have the minimum insurance amounts of:
$100,000 for injury or death to one person in one accident
$300,000 for injury or death to more than one person in one accident
$50,000 for damage to property resulting from one accident
Neither “SR22 insurance” nor “FR44 insurance” is truly a different kind of insurance. Both terms simply refer to a certificate of financial responsibility that your insurance carrier will provide to the State. These certificates simply prove to the State that you have current insurance coverage. If your SR22 or FR44 is allowed to lapse for any reason, your insurance company is required to report it to the State, and your driver’s license will again be suspended.
You can call the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at 850-617-2000 or visit their website for more information about SR22 and FR44 insurance. For more information about DUI penalties, visit our Florida DUI laws page.
Not all insurance carriers are required to offer SR22 or FR44 insurance. You can find those who do here:
Florida’s Ignition Interlock Program
Florida’s Ignition Interlock Program requires that certain DUI offenders be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in any vehicle that they drive. First time offenders may be court ordered to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program. If a first time offender had a blood alcohol content of 0.15 or higher, or had a minor in the vehicle at the time of the DUI, an IID is required for up to 6 months. Subsequent offenders are required to participate in the program for 1-5 years.
Those convicted of a DUI are responsible for all costs associated with the Ignition Interlock Program. There is a $12 interlock fee. It also costs $70 plus tax for installation. There is a monthly $67.50 plus tax monitoring and calibration free and $5 insurance charge. In addition, at the time of installation, offenders must make a $100 refundable deposit.
Florida requires an ignition interlock device on all vehicles that the customer owns and regularly drives.
There are only two approved ignition interlock device vendors in Florida:
Interlock Group of Florida (800-728-7396) serves northern Florida
Interlock Systems of Florida (866-837-8646) serves southern Florida.
For more information about Florida’s Interlock Ignition Program, visit their website.
Additional Florida DUI Resources
- Florida First Offense DUI – First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida Second Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida Third Offense DUI – Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida Fourth or Subsequent Offense DUI – Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Florida’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Florida Alcohol DUI Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
- Florida Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Florida bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.