Florida Third Offense DUI Penalties
Florida Third Offense DUI Law Overview
A third offense DUI in Florida comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department.
A third offense is classified as a Misdemeanor offense most of the time. It can be elevated to a Felony offense if you caused property damage or injury to another person. If the third offense occurred within 10 years of a previous offense there is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 30 days. The jail term may be decreased if probation is granted. If probation is granted the offenders vehicle will be impounded for 90 days at the owners expense. The fine amount will range between $2,000 and $5,000 depending upon your BAC level and whether or not a minor was in the vehicle, plus whether or not the offense occurred within the 10 year “look back” period. Attendance in a state approved DUI school program is required.
A third offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will result in a 18 month revocation of your driver’s license. An ignition interlock will be required upon reinstatement for at least 2 years for all third offenders. Your license will be revoked for 10 years following a third offense that occurs within the 10 year “look back” period. You may be eligible for a hardship license after serving 2 years of the revocation period. A third offense with no more than 1 previous offense within the past 5 years will result in a revocation of your license of 5 years. The court may grant you a hardship license during suspension period. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Florida DUI Resources
- Florida DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Florida’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Florida First Offense DUI – First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida Second Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida Fourth or Subsequent Offense DUI – Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Florida SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Florida’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Florida DUI Education Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol education classes.
- Florida Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Florida bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.