California Second Offense DUI Penalties
California Second Offense DUI Law Overview
A second offense DUI in California comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
A second offense is a Misdemeanor offense. To be classified as a second offense the offender has been convicted of no more than 1 previous offense within the past 10 years. Punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for 10 days to 1 year, probation may be granted in lieu of any jail term, the fine amount will be $1,800 to $2,800 the court may allow you to perform community service to work off part of the fine. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved alcohol and drug program is required.
A second offense refusal will result in a 2 year license suspension period. An ignition interlock will be required for all high BAC offenders. Second time offenders will be eligible to drive after 90 days of the suspension period with an ignition interlock. Your license will be suspended for 1 year following a second offense as long as you submitted to a chemical test. The court may grant you a restricted license during suspension period. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional California DUI Resources
- California DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of California’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- California First Offense DUI – First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- California Third Offense DUI – Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- California Fourth Offense DUI – Fourth offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- California SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about California’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- California Alcohol Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
- California Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of California bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
- State Statutes – Complete California DUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.