Connecticut First Offense DUI Penalties
Connecticut First Offense DUI Law Overview
A first offense DUI in Connecticut comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
A first offense is a Misdemeanor offense in Connecticut. Punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a minimum of 2 days and not more than 6 months, or in lieu of jail sentence a term of probation and a minimum of 100 hours of community service, a fine between $500 and $1,000 plus court costs. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved victims impact panel program maybe required.
A first offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will be considered a presumption of guilt and will result in an automatic 6 month suspension of your driver’s license. An ignition interlock will be required for a period of 1 year for all first time offenders following the end of the suspension period. Your license will be suspended for 45 days following a first offense as long as you submitted to a chemical test. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Connecticut DUI Resources
- Connecticut DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Connecticut’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Connecticut Second Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Connecticut Third Offense DUI – Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Connecticut SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Connecticut’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Connecticut DUI Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
- Connecticut Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Connecticut bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
- State Statutes – Complete Connecticut DUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.