Connecticut Second Offense DUI Penalties
Connecticut Second Offense DUI Law Overview
To be considered a second DUI, the current offense must have occurred within 10 years of a previous first offense. A second offense DUI in Connecticut comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
A second offense is classified as a Misdemeanor offense in Connecticut. Punished by a fine of not less than $1,000 or no more than $4,000 plus court costs, a jail sentence between 120 days and 2 years. The court will place you on probation following your jail sentence plus sentence you to 100 hours of community service. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved DUI education program is required.
A second offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will be considered a presumption of guilt and will result in an additional 1 year suspension of your driver’s license. An ignition interlock will be required for a period of 3 years for all second time offenders following the 45 day suspension period. Your license will be suspended for 45 days following a second offense as long as you submitted to a chemical test. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Connecticut DUI Resources
- Connecticut DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Connecticut’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Connecticut First Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Connecticut Third Offense DUI – Third offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Connecticut SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Connecticut’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Connecticut Alcohol Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol abuse classes.
- Connecticut Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Connecticut bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
- State Statutes – Complete Connecticut DUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.