Connecticut Third Offense DUI Penalties
Connecticut Third Offense DUI Law Overview
To be considered a third offense DUI, the current offense must have occurred within 10 years of at least one of the two previous offenses. A third offense DUI in Connecticut comes with a combination of criminal penalties enforced by the court and administrative penalties against your driver’s license handed down by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
A third offense is a Misdemeanor offense. Punished by a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $4,000 and by imprisonment of 3 years of which 1 year must be served followed by a term of probation and 100 hours of community service. Jail time and fines vary based upon the offenders blood alcohol level. Attendance in a state approved alcohol education program is required.
A third offense refusal to submit to a chemical test will be considered a presumption of guilt and will result in a 3 year suspension of your driver’s license. An ignition interlock will be required for a period of 15 years for all third time offenders if your license is reinstated by the DMV following a minimum of 2 years revocation. Your license will be revoked for life following a third offense. An SR-22 form filing will be required for a period of 3 years beyond license reinstatement period. You can apply for your SR-22 filing below:
Additional Connecticut DUI Resources
- Connecticut DUI Laws – Here you will find a comprehensive and detailed explanation of Connecticut’s DUI laws including all offense levels and penalties.
- Connecticut First Offense DUI – First offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Connecticut Second Offense DUI – Second offense information including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and more.
- Connecticut SR22 Insurance Filing – We have compiled everything you need to know about Alabama’s SR22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc.
- Connecticut Alcohol Education Classes – We offer a complete listing of state approved DUI & alcohol education classes.
- Connecticut Bail Bondsmen – Comprehensive list of Connecticut bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
- State Statutes – Complete Connecticut DUI statute regarding DUI laws and penalties.