DUI Laws & Information on Drunk Driving
Anyone who has been arrested for DUI or drunk driving understands what a stressful and confusing time the whole process can be. We here at DUI Process.com understand what you're going through because we have been there ourselves and that is why we have created this website dedicated to the DUI process and all of the varies steps and resources that you will need along the way during the process.
If you have been recently arrested on a DUI/DWI charge or have an older conviction, please take some time to browse around our website and see for yourself the wealth of information we have compiled here for you to try and help you as you navigate this treacherous thing called "The DUI Process". You may also be interested in the DUI publications we have to offer, just click on the button above labeled "I Want to Learn More" to see a complete list of our publications.
It does not matter which state you live in, all 50 states including the District of Columbia recognize a blood alcohol level of .08% as the level at which a person is considered to be drunk and should not be driving. A number of states also have a lesser charge commonly know as DWAI or "driving while ability impaired", the blood alcohol level for this charge is .05% to .079%. In the states that recognize the lesser charge, please realize that it is still a drunk driving penalty and should not be taken lightly, if you are facing any charge whether it be a DUI in California, a DWI in Missouri, a OWI in Iowa, a DUII in Oregon, a DWAI in Colorado, or any of the other terms states use to describe drunk driving, these are serious charges that in most states will remain on your criminal record for life if convicted. With that said we strongly encourage you to speak with one of our drunk driving lawyers about your case immediately.
State by State DUI/DWI Law Overview
Below is a table of state by state DUI/DWI laws that shows a number of the penalties a firt time offender will be facing in each state. If you are a repeat offender or a first time offender just click on the state name below to be taken to that state's DUI/DWI law page for a complete oeverview.
|Driver's License Suspended/Revoked||Driving Privileges During Suspension||Ignition Interlock First Offenders||DUI Class Attendance|
|Alabama||90 days||No||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Alaska||90 days||After 30 days||Mandatory||Required|
|Arizona||90 days||After 30 days||Mandatory||Required|
|California||4 months||After 30 days||Varies||Required|
|Colorado||3 months||Yes||BAC ≥.174||Required|
|Florida||6 months||After 30 days||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Georgia||1 year||Yes||2nd offense||Required|
|Hawaii||3 months||After 30 days||Mandatory||Required|
|Idaho||90 days||After 30 days||Varies||Required|
|Illinois||6 months||After 30 days||Mandatory||Required|
|Indiana||180 days||After 30 days||Varies||Required|
|Iowa||180 days||After 90 days||Varies||Possible|
|Louisiana||90 days||After 30 days||Mandatory||Required|
|Maryland||45 days||Yes||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Massachusetts||90 days||No||2nd offense||Required|
|Michigan||court's discretion||-||BAC ≥.17||Required|
|Minnesota||90 days||After 15 days||2nd offense||Required|
|Montana||court's discretion||-||2nd offense||Required|
|Nebraska||180 days||After 30 days||Mandatory||Required|
|Nevada||90 days||After 45 days||Discretion||Required|
|New Hamp||6 months||No||High BAC||Required|
|New Jersey||court's discretion||-||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|New Mexico||6 months||Yes||Mandatory||Required|
|New York||court's discretion||Yes||Mandatory||Required|
|North Carolina||30 days||After 10 days||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|North Dakota||91 days||After 30 days||Discretion||Required|
|Ohio||90 days||After 15 days||Discretion||Required|
|Oklahoma||180 days||Yes||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Oregon||90 days||After 30 days||Discretion||Required|
|Pennsylvania||court's discretion||-||2nd offense||Required|
|Rhode Island||court's discretion||-||3rd offense||Possible|
|South Carolina||court's discretion||-||2nd offense||Required|
|South Dakota||court's discretion||-||Discretion||Possible|
|Tennessee||court's discretion||-||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Texas||90 days||Yes||2nd offense||Required|
|DC||2 days minimum||No||Discretion||Possible|
|West Virginia||6 months||After 30 days||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Wisconsin||6 months||Yes||BAC ≥.15||Required|
|Wyoming||90 days||Yes||BAC ≥.15||Required|
It's important to note that in a lot of the states that allow a temporary driving permit during the suspension period, you will be required to demonstrate a hardship situation that requires you to drive and that you have no other means of transportation in order to receive a temporary driving permit, so for that reason it is important that you actually go to the law page for your state and find out what might determine a hardship situation. Also under the "DUI Class Attendance" above, if a class is required you may click on the link labeled "required" and you will be taken to our DUI class page for your state where you will find listings of all the classes available within each County along with contact information for that program.
Other DUI/DWI Resources
DUI/DWI Laws by State - Drunk driving laws for each state including penalties, fines, potential jail time, license suspension, DUI classes, and much more for each state.
SR-22 Filing Info by State - SR-22 insurance and filing requirements including important addresses, phone numbers, etc. for each state.
DUI/DWI Classes by State - State approved DUI/DWI classes by County including contact information.
Bail Bond Agents by State - Comprehensive list of bail bond agents including address, phone, website, etc.
Courts by State - Comprehensive list of criminal courts listed by County for each state.
Jails by State - Comprehensive list of jails and contact information for each state.